Teenagers scare the living shit out of me

Standard

Because the drugs never work
They’re gonna give you a smirk
‘Cause they got methods of keepin’ you clean
They gonna rip up your heads
Your aspirations to shreds
Another cog in the murder machine

– My Chemical Romance “Teenagers”

I have thoughts and opinions on addicts and the whole 12-step recovery process. I am not an expert. I’m not a recovering or current addict. I have dabbled in drugs such as Cocaine, Marijuana, Alcohol, and whatever they used to put into those “designer” pills we called “rolls.” I worked as a pharmacy technician for many years when “Pill Mills” were a thing. And the last thing I can remember to disclose is I have little tolerance, sympathy, or compassion for addicts since I grew up with one in my house as a child. And maybe one more thing… of all the addicts I have come across living in South Florida, the land of recovery and 12-step programs, I’ve never seen a real success.

To me, that’s a problem with the treatment, the program, the book so people call it.

Around here it has always been a running joke that if you’re a drug addict who wants to get and intends to stay clean, don’t go to Narcotics Anonymous meetings. People in the medical community go so far as to say people in Alcoholic’s Anonymous go for coffee afterwards, people in NA go for 8-balls afterwards.

But I have a problem with the whole system of recovery. Simply put, I think they’re doing it wrong.

They push that people can’t do it alone, that they must believe in a higher power to help them because they are too weak and their addiction is all powerful. That’s bulshit. If you are powerful enough to start using drugs, it should be taught that you also hold the power to stop. I think it is wrong to have someone believe they don’t hold the actual power. That shifts blame and self-responsibility and makes it easier to excuse relapses.

The next thing I am going to say is highly controversial. But I already told you I am not an expert, I’ve never had an addiction to anything, and my only experience has been based off what I have seen around me — in my family and where I live.

The disease model of addiction is… bullshit.

dis·ease (dəˈzēz)
noun

a disorder of structure or function in a human, animal, or plant, especially one that produces specific signs or symptoms or that affects a specific location and is not simply a direct result of physical injury.
“bacterial meningitis is a rare disease”
synonyms: illness, sickness, ill health; More

If heroin caused a blood cancer, that cancer would be the disease. Not the person shooting up. Smoking does cause cancer, we don’t call the physical action of smoking a disease, but the cancer that can come from it, we do.

Doing drugs, drinking alcohol because you can’t go a day without it is a dependency, not a disease. Getting over a dependency can be difficult, yes, but putting it into the minds of these people who are dealing with their addictions that they are diseased does not help kick it. It doesn’t. It helps excuse it, it’s another way to take away power from the person, it does more harm than good.

Simply, the whole system is fucked and I don’t agree with it.

7 thoughts on “Teenagers scare the living shit out of me

Say Something

